In the Duke Gallery: HEAD ON

An insight into some of Philadelphia’s finest artists via the self portrait

February 4- March 12. 2017

Artists Reception: February 19, 2pm to 4pm

The self portrait has forever been a staple in the artist’s portfolio. Whether it be for lack of model, the need for self-expression, or a break from on ongoing project, it is a familiar examination, and one that offers the artist the greatest latitude of personal expression. Defacto it gives the viewer a glimpse into the inner core of the artist’s persona.

This collection represents some of our area’s most accomplished and diverse talents. They collectively have shown internationally in the most prestigious venues and museums, graced the covers and pages of the art world’s most respected periodicals, been commissioned by the highest of political and social offices and taught at our finest art schools.

Each portrait speaks to not only the keen painting acumen, but to the senses of humor, strength and even vulnerability of the artist. The Duke Gallery is pleased to present this strong body of engaging work.

To learn more about each artist, please visit the following websites:

Martin Campos www.pafa.org/faculty-members/arcenio-martin-campos
Patrick Connors  www.connorsfinearts.com
Rachel Constantine www.rachelconstantine.com
Ellen Cooper www.ellencooper.net

Patrick Crofton www.patrickcrofton.weebly.com

Daniel Dallmann  www.danieldallmann.net
Paul du Sold www.pauldusold.com
Kerry Dunn www.kerrydunn.com
Diane Feissel www.dianeandjohn.com
Garth Herrick www.garthherrick.com
Amy Kann www.amykann.com
Georganna Lenssen www.georgannalenssen.com
JaFang Lu www.jafanglu.com
Dale Roberts www.dalerobertsencaustic.com
Robert Sampson www.robertsampson.net
Jeff Schaller www.jeffschaller.com
Bill Scott www.pafa.org/faculty-members/bill-scott
Lauren Tilden www.laurentilden.com
Alexandra Tyng www.alexandratyng.com
Adam Vinson www.adamvinson.net
Jenn Warpole www.jennwarpolestudios.com
Lea Wight www.leawight.com

Click on a photo to see slideshow: